SI Swimsuit editor-in-chief MJ Day paid Nu a surprise visit during the Japanese-Dutch model’s interview about her photoshoot, which took place in Montenegro with photographer James Macari. “She has no idea,” Day whispered backstage before greeting Nu. “And I think she’s going to be really excited. I’m really excited because she’s so amazing.” Nu’s reaction? Not only excitement but tears of joy! “I’m going to cry!” the 25-year-old said as she saw Day walk in the room. “I’m in shock, I’m in shock.” The two shared a big hug, with the magazine editor wiping tears away from Nu’s eyes. “This is crazy,” Nu admitted. “What the hell!” Watch her amazing reaction in the video here. Nu gave credit to Day for seeing potential in her, telling her, “It started with you giving me a chance, honestly. You were the first one.” “It started with you putting yourself out there and standing for all women up here, loving yourself and teaching them to love themselves,” Day responded. The musician-model was both shocked and elated to find herself a cover star, as she never expected the momentous occasion to happen for her. “I would always see other models’ reactions to their covers and I would be like, oh my gosh, that is crazy for them, that is surreal for them,” she said. “And even just watching that I felt like I couldn’t imagine it happening to me. So, definitely biggest plot twist in my life so far.” “Best one, though,” she added. “Best one.” Nu made her SI Swim debut last yearas a 2021 rookie, making her the first-ever Asian plus-size model featured in the iconic issue. She was excited to learn that the team “wanted to have me back.” “I knew it would feel different than my rookie year,” she told SI Swimsuit this year “I felt more confident and less afraid going into it, which brought a new energy to my shoot. I still had those big-shoot jitters, but everyone at SI is truly family now, so all nervousness went away so fast.” You can view more on the complete edition of the 2022 Sports Illustrated here.

See Yumi Nu Learn She s an SI Swimsuit Cover Model - 36