Fans of the frightening franchise can look forward to “a lot of blood,” violence and “psychological stuff” in the new show, according to series creator Sara Goodman, who also promised at Comic-Con@Home 2021 that the latest retelling of the story is “real, dysfunctional and completely unpredictable.” And if you need proof of that: James Wan, who co-created Saw and has directed Insidious,The Conjuring, and Malignant, is one of the series’ executive producers. Given Wan’s horror genre credits, it’s safe to assume I Know What You Did Last Summer will deliver plenty of scares! Here is what we know about the upcoming I Know What You Did Last Summer series:

When does I Know What You Did Last Summer premiere?

Will all of the I Know What You Did Last Summer episodes be released on the same day?

The first four episodes of I Know What You Did Last Summer will drop simultaneously on Friday, Oct. 15. New episodes will then be released every Friday leading up to the series’ “suspenseful, can’t-miss” season finale on Friday, Nov. 12.

How to watch I Know What You Did Last Summer?

How many episodes will there be of I Know What You Did Last Summer?

Fans can look forward to eight episodes in the series’ first season.

Who is in the I Know What You Did Last Summer cast?

Meet the cast playing the new characters in I Know What You Did Last Summer:

Sebastian Amoruso as Johnny in I Know What You Did Last Summer

Sebastian Amoruso is playing Johnny in the TV adaptation. The actor has a recurring role in Snapchat’s original series Solve and has starred in musicals, including Heathers the Musical and the US premiere of Prom Queen.

Cassie Beck as Courtney in I Know What You Did Last Summer

The character Courtney is played by Broadway actress Cassie Beck. The I Know What You Did Last Summer star has a recurring role on NBC’s comedy Connecting and was in the cast of Mark Wahlberg’s 2020 feature film Joe Bell.

Brooke Bloom as Clara in I Know What You Did Last Summer

Brooke Bloom, who has had roles in Homecoming and Alpha House, portrays Clara in the I Know What You Did Last Summer series.

Ezekiel Goodman as Dylan in I Know What You Did Last Summer

Ezekiel Goodman, the actor playing Dylan, will be appearing in a forthcoming feature by filmmaker Meredith Johnston. When his role in I Know What You Did Last Summer was announced, Goodman penned on his Instagram: “radically thankful extremely stoked.”

Bill Heck as Bruce in I Know What You Did Last Summer

Madison Iseman as Lennon and Allison in I Know What You Did Last Summer

Madison Iseman, known for her role as Bethany Walker in the Jumanji franchise, plays Lennon AND Allison. Deadline has reported that the actress is believed to be the lead like Hewitt in the original movie. After casting for the show was announced, Iseman wrote on Instagram: “……does this make me an official scream queen? Eeeeeep.”

Ashley Moore as Riley in I Know What You Did Last Summer

The character Riley is played by Ashley Moore. The actress’ first gig was a role in Judd Apatow’s Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping. She has also guest-starred on Freeform’s Alone Together. “So thrilled to finally share!!” she captioned news of her casting in I Know What You Did Last Summer earlier this year. “Really grateful & excited for this! @amazonprimevideo.”

Fiona Rene as Lyla in I Know What You Did Last Summer

Fiona Rene, who plays Lyla, is known for her role as Kara Lee on ABC’s Stumptown. Rene has also appeared on Grey’s Anatomy, Jane the Virgin and The Invisible Hours.

Brianne Tju as Margot in I Know What You Did Last Summer

Brianne Tju has added the character Margot to her resumé, which also includes Hulu’s Light as a Feather. Tju has teased her Instagram followers to watch her “get into some sticky situations” in I Know What You Did Last Summer.

What is I Know What You Did Last Summer about?

Like the book and the movie, the upcoming TV series follows a group of friends who accidentally kill someone. “One year after the fatal car accident that haunted their graduation night, a group of teenagers find themselves bound together by a dark secret and stalked by a brutal killer,” the show’s official synopsis reads. “As they try to piece together who’s after them, they reveal the dark side of their seemingly perfect town—and themselves. Everyone is hiding something, and uncovering the wrong secret could be deadly.” Goodman previously revealed at Comic-Con@Home 2021 that the characters are “not just running from a stalker” in the series. “They also are having relationships and they’re having issues with their families and they’re dealing with their real f**king lives,” she shared. “There’s more than just the mystery of who’s after them. It’s very much a mystery of who they really are.” Actor Ezekiel has described the I Know What You Did Last Summer series as a “scary and gory and sexy show.”

What is I Know What You Did Last Summer based on?

The Prime Video series is based on American writer Lois Duncan’s 1973 novel of the same name. The young adult book is about four teens involved in a hit-and-run accident that kills a boy. The group makes a pact to not discuss the night, but one girl ends up receiving a note informing her that they know what she did last summer.

Is there a trailer for I Know What You Did Last Summer?

Blood, screams, bodies, oh my! If you think you know what’s going on in the I Know What You Did Last Summer trailer, guess again. “There are so many misleads in like the best possible way,” Amoruso said of the trailer, which dropped less than a month ahead of the premiere. The chilling preview offers a glimpse at what’s to come in the modern series following that fatal car accident (and possible differences between the show and movie, like where’s the hook?!) You might want to leave the lights on for this trailer…

Is there another I Know What You Did Last Summer?

Long before the series, there was an I Know What You Did Last Summer movie. Duncan’s young adult book was the basis of the 1997 horror film, which spawned two sequels: 1998’s I Still Know What You Did Last Summer and 2006’s I’ll Always Know What You Did Last Summer. Goodman revealed at Comic-Con@Home 2021 that there are Easter eggs throughout the TV series for die-hard fans of the original movie.

Who was in the original I Know What You Did Last Summer movie?

The original 1997 movie, directed by Jim Gillespie, had a number of big names, including a Buffy the Vampire Slayer actress and Big Bang Theory actor:

Jennifer Love Hewitt as Julie James

Ghost Whisperer and 911 star Hewitt played Julie James in the screen adaptation of Duncan’s novel. The summer after Julie and three others accidentally killed a boy on a bicycle, she received a note in the mail that read: “I know what you did last summer.”

Freddie Prinze Jr. as Ray Bronson

Freddie Prinze Jr. took on the role of Ray Bronson in the slasher film. The actor ended up meeting Gellar, his future wife, on the set of the horror flick.

Sarah Michelle Gellar as Helen Shivers

Gellar was also one of the stars of the teen thriller. The Buffy the Vampire Slayer actress portrayed Helen Shivers.

Ryan Phillippe as Barry Cox

Ironically, Gellar’s onscreen boyfriend Barry Cox wasn’t played by Prinze, but by Ryan Phillippe, whom she went on to co-star within Cruel Intentions.

Johnny Galecki as Max Neurick

Big Bang Theory alum Johnny Galecki also had a role in the I Know What You Did Last Summer movie playing Max Neurick.

Will the original movie’s stars appear in the I Know What You Did Last Summer series?

He added, “I’ve heard the new cast is really great, and I can’t wait to watch it. We’ve contributed a little bit from a publicity standpoint, to support the series. It does make you feel a little bit like a dinosaur, the fact that they’re remaking projects that you were in. It’s like, ‘God, how old am I?’”

Why are they making another I Know What You Did Last Summer?

Plans for a reboot were revealed back in 2014. Deadline reported at the time that Sony Pictures was rebooting I Know What You Did Last Summer, noting that the remake would be a “somewhat of a safe bet for Sony — a proven title that can be cast on the cheap and done on a lower budget.” Next, 60 Funny Halloween Instagram Captions for You and Your Best Ghoul-Friends

I Know What You Did Last Summer Series  2021   Cast  Premiere  Trailer - 72I Know What You Did Last Summer Series  2021   Cast  Premiere  Trailer - 70I Know What You Did Last Summer Series  2021   Cast  Premiere  Trailer - 29