Leslie Knope (Amy Poehler) and Ron Swanson (Nick Offerman) couldn’t have been more different, but they put their differences aside, worked together and, dare we say, became friends. Poehler picked up nine Emmy nominations for her portrayal of most dedicated member of the Pawnee parks department and whose love of J.J.’s waffles, friends and her hometown made the show quotable then and now. “The only thing I’m guilty of is loving Pawnee,” Leslie Knope said on the show. If you’re looking for more of Leslie’s quirky comments, we’ve rounded up the Leslie Knope quotes.

Leslie Knope Quotes

  1. “The only thing I’m guilty of is loving Pawnee. And punching Lindsay in the face and shoving a coffee filter down her pants.”
  2. “There’s nothing we can’t do if we work hard, never sleep, and shirk all other responsibilities in our lives.”
  3. “I don’t know. But I know how I feel and I want to be with you. But I’m done steamrolling people.”
  4. “The thing about youth culture is—I don’t understand it.”
  5. “We have to remember what’s important in life: friends, waffles and work. Or waffles, friends, work. But work has to to come third.”
  6. “What I hear when I’m being yelled at is people caring really loudly at me.”
  7. “Why would anybody ever eat anything besides breakfast food?”
  8. “I don’t want to be overdramatic, but today felt like a hundred years in heck and the absolute worst day of my life.”
  9. “I have the most valuable commodity in America: the blind, stubborn belief that I am doing what is right.”
  10. “I stand behind my decision to avoid salad and other disgusting things.”
  11. “I took your idea and I made it better.”
  12. “I’m going to be direct and honest with you. I would like a glass of red wine and I’ll take the cheapest one you have because I can’t tell the difference.”
  13. “I’ve told you that the Eagletonians are awful, terrible people. They call their boogers ‘Pawnee caviar’.” 14. “Hobbies? Organizing my agenda. Wait, that doesn’t sound fun … jammin’ on my planner!”
  14. “In 1988, we were hit by a tornado. We asked Eagleton for help, and they claimed they weren’t home.”
  15. “It’s not that I don’t trust Ben. It’s that I don’t have faith in Ben. And also I’m starting to forget who Ben is.”
  16. “The things that you have done for me; to help me, support me, surprise me, to make me happy — go above and beyond what any person deserves. You’re all I need. I love you and I like you.”
  17. “Well, I tried to call Oprah. Couldn’t get her number. I’m putting it out there, like The Secret. And hopefully she’ll call me.”
  18. “Guys love it when you can show them you are better than they are at something they love.”
  19. “Maybe it’s time for more women to be in charge.”
  20. “Oh Ann, you’re too beautiful to be funny. It’s not your fault.”
  21. “One person’s ‘annoying’ is another person’s ‘inspiring and heroic’.”
  22. “Pawnee’s library department is the most diabolical, ruthless bunch of bureaucrats I’ve ever seen.”
  23. “Sometimes you have to make the hardest climb to see the most beautiful sunrise.”
  24. “It is my dream to build a park… that I one day visit with my White House staff on my birthday. And they say President Knope, this park is awesome.”
  25. “I guess some people object to powerful depictions of awesome ladies.”
  26. “I am a Goddess, a glorious female warrior.”
  27. “Winning is every girl’s dream. But it’s my destiny.”
  28. “Like I always say, stairs is a young man’s game.”
  29. Ann, you’re so sweet and innocent and pretty."
  30. “There are very few things I have asked for in this world. To build a new park from scratch, to eventually become president and to one day solve a murder on a train.”
  31. “Why did I change my hairstyle? Oh, I don’t know. I decided it would look better… or my kids got gum in it.”
  32. “Oh, Ann, I always forget because you’re so pretty, you’re not used to rejection.”
  33. No matter what I do, literally nothing bad can happen to me. I’m like a white, male U.S. senator."
  34. “What’s Galentine’s Day? Oh, it’s only the best day of the year.” 36 “Now go find your team. Get to work. Whatever that work is that you find worth doing. Do it, and find some people to love who’ll do it with you.”
  35. “Everyone should love waffles. If they don’t, they’re crazy.”
  36. “Ann’s my doctor. She’s the most beautiful nurse in the world.”
  37. “I need you to text me every 30 seconds that everything is going to be OK.”
  38. “February 13th, Galentine’s Day, is about celebrating lady friends.”
  39. “Ann, you beautiful spinster, I will find you love.”
  40. “I mean, am I living the dream? I don’t know. Did I also just walk past a food truck and buy myself a waffle sundae? Yes!”
  41. “Winning is every girl’s dream. But it’s my destiny.”
  42. “You know what I should do? I should get my mother a one way ticket to London, leaving today. That way Ben never has to meet her and I could visit her in London.”
  43. “Ann, you beautiful tropical fish.”
  44. “I am big enough to admit that I am often inspired by myself.”
  45. “I ate a brownie once at a party in college. It was intense. It was kind of indescribable, actually. I felt like I was floating. Turns out there wasn’t any pot in the brownie, it was just an insanely good brownie.”
  46. “All the things make me think a lot of feelings about myself.”
  47. “Ann, you’re a genius! Your brain is almost as perfect as your face.”
  48. “You know my code: hoes before bros. Uteruses before duderuses. Ovaries before brovaries.”
  49. “If you want to bake a pie, that’s great. If you want to have a career, that’s great too.”
  50. “When you love something, you don’t threaten it. You don’t punish it. You fight for it. You take care of it. You put it first.”
  51. “Hey, Leslie. It’s Leslie. Hang in there. I love you. Bye.”
  52. “Ann, you’re such a good friend. You are a beautiful, talented, brilliant, powerful musk ox.”

54 Best Leslie Knope Quotes from Parks and Rec - 5354 Best Leslie Knope Quotes from Parks and Rec - 3254 Best Leslie Knope Quotes from Parks and Rec - 2854 Best Leslie Knope Quotes from Parks and Rec - 4354 Best Leslie Knope Quotes from Parks and Rec - 854 Best Leslie Knope Quotes from Parks and Rec - 9054 Best Leslie Knope Quotes from Parks and Rec - 5854 Best Leslie Knope Quotes from Parks and Rec - 6554 Best Leslie Knope Quotes from Parks and Rec - 8054 Best Leslie Knope Quotes from Parks and Rec - 4254 Best Leslie Knope Quotes from Parks and Rec - 9854 Best Leslie Knope Quotes from Parks and Rec - 554 Best Leslie Knope Quotes from Parks and Rec - 66